A Day Has Gone By

A day has gone by
Deducting one day
From my life
I ponder what I achieve
And what I give.

Day comes with morning newspapers
News of tension and terror
News of aversion and horror
Fill the morning editions
I flip through them
And think
How I have enriched from them.

Then comes our maid
In torn sareee
And blouse ragged
With tension writ large
To face our wrath
For her coming late.

Tingling sound of utensils
Fill the kitchen air
She toils her way
Through the grime and dirt
That we have accumulated.

She leaves the house
Showing her gratitude
For the cup of tea
And two chappatis
Or the paltry sum
We dole out at month’s end.

I cook the meal
Stuff the tiffin boxes
And see the children off to school.

Again cook for lunch
While husband readies for office
Hurrying from place to place
I see that everything is in place.

In between I munch
Some biscuits
Or have a sip from my tea cup.

When everything done
To my watch I look on
And wonder
Ah I will be late again
And face my angry boss
At the office entrance.

No I can’t go
Without checking
Lock and keys
Doors and windows
And children’s meals.

Oh it’s already late
No time to eat
And I rush to office
With my vanity bag
Hanging from my shoulder
But full with
False ego and emptiness.

A Day Has Gone …

4 thoughts on “A Day Has Gone …

  1. pranati nayak,sister says:

    liked it.amidst your plight u nurture a compassionate heart towards your maid.

  2. Hemshankar says:

    Really… A day has gone

  3. Sujata says:

    Bharati it is so true…..the reality u have depicted so nicely.

Leave a Reply

